European Higher Education Area and Bologna process

The European Higher Education Area (EHEA) is the result of the political will of 48 countries which, step by step during the last eighteen years, built an area using common tools. These 48 countries implement reforms on higher education on the basis of common key values – such as freedom of expression, autonomy for institutions, independent students unions, academic freedom, free movement of students and staff. Through this process, countries, institutions and stakeholders of the European area continuously adapt their higher education systems making them more compatible and strengthening their quality assurance mechanisms. For all these countries, the main goal is to increase staff and students' mobility and to facilitate employability.
This official website of EHEA provides both general information on this process and detailed information for experts.


Nov 2017
23 to 25 November 2017
European Quality Assurance Forum
Riga, Latvia

How can quality assurance (QA) ensure transparent and responsible action? The 12th EQAF will explore current developments in research, policy and practice from across Europe that tackle the need...

27 to 29 November 2017
Bologna Process Researchers' Conference
Bucharest, Romania

The Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding (UEFISCDI), together with the National University of Political Science and Public Administration (SNSPA) and...

Dec 2017
7 December 2017
AG Non-implementation 2015-2018
Brussels, Belgium

The fifth meeting of the Advisory Group on Dealing with non-implementation. will take place on December 7th 2017 in Brussels.

13 December 2017
Drafting Committee meeting
Paris, France

The Fifth meeting of the Drafting Committee will take place in Paris, December 13rd 2017.

Jan 2018
23 January 2018
Drafting Committee meeting
Belgrade, Serbia

The Sixth meeting of the Drafting Committee will take place in Belgrade, January 23rd 2018.

Homepage Employability