European Higher Education Area and Bologna process

The European Higher Education Area (EHEA) is the result of the political will of 48 countries which, step by step during the last eighteen years, built an area using common tools. These 48 countries implement reforms on higher education on the basis of common key values – such as freedom of expression, autonomy for institutions, independent students unions, academic freedom, free movement of students and staff. Through this process, countries, institutions and stakeholders of the European area continuously adapt their higher education systems making them more compatible and strengthening their quality assurance mechanisms. For all these countries, the main goal is to increase staff and students’ mobility and to facilitate employability.
This official website of EHEA provides both general information on this process and detailed information for experts.


Dec 2016
6 to 7 December 2016
EURASHE Seminar on Regional Development
Bratislava, Slovak Republic

EURASHE will organise a research seminar on regional development titled ‘Higher Education as a Driver of Regional Development – Applied Sciences & Research within Diversified Higher...

8 to 9 December 2016
BFUG meeting 52
Bratislava, Slovak Republic

The fifty-second Bologna Follow-Up Group meeting will be held in Bratislava on 8-9 December 2016. The meeting will take place in the historical building of the National Council in the centre of...

12 to 13 December 2016
ENQA Conference on e-learning
Athens, Greece

The European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ENQA) invites its members, affiliates, and other interested stakeholders to participate in the conference on the “Social...

Homepage Employability