

Update to the E4's report to the BFUG

- 1. The Founding ceremony of EQAR took place on 4 March in Brussels. The public founding event, that included speeches by the heads of the E4 organisations and keynote addresses by European Commissioner Ján Figeľ and BFUG Vice-Chair Germain Dondelinger, was attended by ca 80 participants.
- 2. BUSINESSEUROPE and Education International joined the association as Social Partner members. 19 European governments were admitted as Governmental Members. The countries that signed up to support the Register represent a good regional balance.
- 3. During its official session, the Founding Assembly approved the Register Committee, elected an Appeals Committee and endorsed the Executive Board of EQAR. The assembly adopted a membership fee scale, as proposed by the E4 Group to the BFUG, and a provisional budget for 2008. The budget will be updated for the General Assembly in June.
- 4. The first ordinary General Assembly takes place in June 2008. It will be consulted on the Procedures for Applications before their adoption by the Register Committee. EHEA governments that are not members have the possibility to join the EQAR association before the General Assembly in June.
- 5. An overview of EQAR's members and the composition of its statutory bodies is attached.

6/3/2008, CT

eqar////

Annex: EQAR members and statutory bodies

Governmental Members

Armenia Austria

Belgium (Flemish community) Belgium (French-speaking

community)
Bulgaria
Cyprus
Estonia
France
Georgia
Germany

Liechtenstein Luxembourg

Malta

the Netherlands

Poland
Portugal
Romania
Spain
Ukraine

Register Committee

Bryan McMahon (Chair), judge at the Irish High Court, former Chair of the Irish Universities Quality Board, Dublin

Christoph Anz, Head of Education Policy Unit, BMW, München

Lucien Bollaert, Director of Education and Research, University College West Flanders, Kortrijk (Belgium)

Gintautas Bražiūnas, Managing Director, Vilnius College of Higher Education

Éric Froment, Vice-President of the University of Lyon 2

Henrik Toft Jensen, former Rector of Roskilde University

Dáire Keogh, Director of Quality Promotion, St Patrick's College, Dublin

Dorte Kristoffersen, Deputy Executive Director, Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications

Mala Singh, Centre for Higher Education Research and Information, Open University, Milton Keynes (UK)

Tanel Sits, Educational Policy Officer, Federation of Estonian Student Unions (EÜL), Tallinn

Regina Weber, Member of the Executive Board, National Union of Students in Germany (fzs), Berlin

Executive Board

Lesley Wilson (President), Secretary General, EUA

Anne Mikkola (Vice-President), Member of the Bologna Process Committee. ESU

Andreas Orphanides (Vice-President), Vice-President, EURASHE

Emmi Helle (Treasurer), Secretary General, ENQA

Appeals Committee

Jürgen Kohler (Chair), Professor of law, Greifswald University (Germany)

Stephan Neetens, former member of the Bologna Process
Committee. ESU

Ossi Lindqvist, former chair of the Finnish Higher Education Evaluation Council (FINHEEC)

Thierry Malan (Deputy Chair), former General Inspector, Inspectorate for Education and Research (France)

Inge Jonsson (Deputy member), former Rector of Stockholm University