European Higher Education Area and Bologna process

The European Higher Education Area (EHEA) is the result of the political will of 48 countries which, step by step during the last eighteen years, built an area using common tools. These 48 countries implement reforms on higher education on the basis of common key values – such as freedom of expression, autonomy for institutions, independent students unions, academic freedom, free movement of students and staff. Through this process, countries, institutions and stakeholders of the European area continuously adapt their higher education systems making them more compatible and strengthening their quality assurance mechanisms. For all these countries, the main goal is to increase staff and students' mobility and to facilitate employability.
This official website of EHEA provides both general information on this process and detailed information for experts.


Jun 2017
29 June 2017
Joint meeting co-chairs
Paris, France

Joint meeting of all the co-chairs of working/advisory groups 2015-2018.

30 June 2017
Drafting Committee meeting
Paris, France

Second meeting of the Drafting Committee.

Jul 2017
17 July 2017
AG International cooperation 2015-2018
Brussels, Belgium

Sixth meeting of the Advisory Group on EHEA International cooperation.

Sep 2017
5 September 2017
WG New Goals 2015-2018
Brussels, Belgium

Fifth meeting of the working group on Policy development for new EHEA goals.

25 September 2017
Drafting Committee meeting
Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation

The third meeting of the Drafting Committee will take place before the Board Meeting in Saint-Petersburg.

Homepage Employability